Spring News

First order of business:

MANY THANKS to Agnes Blevins and her daughter, Heather, for delivering 72 of our quilts and the hand cast satchels that Mary made to Hersheys Children Medical Center!  The quilts were received by the children there and were greatly appreciated.  Carol Fees,  the Child Life Coordinator, was very happy with our delivery and sent us a nice note of appreciation.

MaryAnn Gallagher also delivered 14 of our quilts to the Salvation Army for the children who have need of them.  She is an officer at Salvation Army and tells me that  they need clothing for the children.  If anyone has anything that could be put to good use by someone in need, please contact MaryAnn.

Cindy Malloy has emailed me and offered us more fabric.  I hope to get together with Cindy very soon.  I have asked her to stop by with Taylor, her daughter, at one of our workshops, so that we can meet this sweet baby.  She sends pictures every month of Taylor, and I can’t wait to see her in person.  I know that Cindy is busy being a new Mom and a Step-Mom to her other two children,  but wouldn’t it be great to see her again!  I know she would love all the quilts that we are donating to the children at Hershey! 

Speaking of babies, Linda Zuzik, is one proud Grandmom!  Her son and daughter in law delivered a 8lb. 9oz baby girl and her name is Faith Lee.  Congratulations to her and her family!  I am sure she will be bringing pictures of her granddaughter to our next workshop.

I have been taking lots of our scraps and cutting them into pieces; squares, rectangles, strips, etc. to bring to our next workshop.  I figured that we could do scrappy quilts with them.  Linda Zuzik also has fabric cut to bring along so that we can interchange the fabrics.  I will be doing more cutting of the fabric that I have here.  I haven’t cut any kits; just pieces so far.  I figure that we could all pull what we want and make our own scrappy quilts.  If you have a need for a certain size or shape, please let me know and I will see that you get it.

Now that spring is here we are all busy with yard work and spring cleaning!  If you are not coming to the workshop, could you shoot me an email?  I have alot of things that I bring with me and if we don’t have a full house, I can cut back on a few items.  Also, Thanks to everyone who helps me pack up at the end of the day.  I am not sure if I leave with more than I come with or not!!!!

Since we made a delivery in April, I am assuming that we can do another sometime in July/August.  I know that we have some ideas rolling around about donating to our local shelters, etc.  I just haven’t gotten a handle yet on where we want to start.  Something to talk about and finalize on May 21st?

I think that is it for right now.  I hope to see all of you at our next workshop.

Published in: on May 13, 2011 at 9:14 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cheriquilts.wordpress.com/2011/05/13/spring-news/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

