August Newsletter

Wow, what a simmering summer it has been!  I am sure everyone has been busy with family obligations and fun summer activities.  I know that I have! 
 
We  had a wonderful turnout in July!  We have new  volunteer quilters to introduce to our group.  Agnes, Joann, Mary, Donna and Gloria have done such a wonderful job jumping into our group.  Thanks so much for all your hardwork!
 
Mary spent her summer doing  over 100 pillowcases to donate.  Thanks Mary!  I really thought that we needed to put labels on these, but after checking with headquarters it seems that I was wrong; image that!  Also, Mary taught us how to do pillowcases with the Hot Dog technique.  Proved to be very interesting and very easy.  I will see that everyone gets a worksheet on how this is done if you are interested in trying this.
 
MaryAnn saved my butt, (yet again!) by cutting over 30 quilt kits for us.  These are some really adorable kits that she made up.  You know that MaryAnn can put any fabric together and make it work wonders.  A great big Thank You to MaryAnn.
 
Sue Markel is going to help with getting a table at the November Christmas at Loganville craft fair.  If there is anything that you want to donate to sell there, be it crafts, dresses, bibs, or any other items that would be great.  We are trying to get some $$$$ in our account for more material, batting, labels, etc.  We have alot of Christmas fabric here that we will try to sell this fall also.  Let’s hope it goes well!  Sue is also going to help draft a letter to our local stores asking for a monetary donation to our Chapter.  If anyone has anymore ideas, please let us know.
 
Speaking of labels, I just received from headquarters our Quilts for Kids Downy labels again.  We had run out of them and were using our older labels.  Both are fine to use, but I prefer the cuter downy labels myself.  I still encourage everyone to sign their quilts with their name and York chapter on them.  I do want you to get credit for all your hard work.
 
Cindy Malloy had her fundraiser just last week for her mothers lung cancer cause.  We donated some of our quilts to her to auction off.  If it wasn’t for Cindy donating her mothers fabric to us, we wouldn’t  have been able to do what we have accomplished in just short of a year.
 
Agnes and Joann have been busy quilting for us since July and are steady sewing!  I am thankful to them for all the finished quilts they have donated.
 
Donna has also done some great quilts and has actually worked out a deal with Linus Project in Lancaster for us.  We donated fleece (which we cannot use ourselves) that came from Cindy to Linus and they in return will donate to us more batting.  I love this bartering thing!
 
IN SEPTEMBER we will not be able to do our workshop.  That is the date for the quilt show in Philly.  I tried to get another date in September, but the room was already taken for a book sale.  If anyone wants to have us at their house, please let me know, otherwise, maybe we can do it here at my home.  Just wondering!
 
Now that school is back in session for alot of us, things will be more orderly in our lives (funny huh).  I hope to get all our wonderful quilts out to  Hershey mid September, so if you have any at home finished please let me know and I will come and get them.
 
I am having a fundraiser this Sunday for Quilts for Kids at my house featuring Willow House Products.  Rebecca Harper will be here to take any orders.  She is giving us 20% (up to $200.00) for our chapter.  Hope to see most of you.
 
Well, I know that I am forgetting something but I will try to keep you updated on all things Quilts for Kids!
 
See you soon and thanks so much for being involved.  We have such an incredible group of women and I am Thankful.
 
Cheri
 
 
 
 
 
 
Published in: on August 27, 2010 at 8:46 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cheriquilts.wordpress.com/2010/08/27/august-newsletter/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

