Quilts for Kids

 A wonderful letter from Cindy, our most favorite donator of fabric and friend!

Good Evening Everyone!

I hope that you are all doing GREAT!  As you all know, it will be three years ago on the 25th of this month that my Mom lost her battle with lung cancer.  Before she passed away she had a dream that when she retired she would make quilts for those she loved and to give to those in need.  Unfortunately, Mom got sick before she could even make her first quilt.  When she passed away her extensive collection of fabric reiterate how huge her heart was and how big her dreams were to make quilts.  Knowing I’ve only ever made three quilts in my life and even being optimistic I may make a few more, I will never use all of the fabric that she collected.

(Stay with me the story is coming to an end, trust me!)  I decided to search for an organization that made quilts for sick children or military members or somewhere that I knew would put the fabric to great use and that could help to live out my Mom’s dream, knowing I myself never could.  I found a few organizations that were interested in the donations and I’ve donated some of the fabric to them.  One of the organizations really touched my heart and that was the York Chapter of Quilts for Kids (www.quiltsforkids.org).  Cheri and I instantly hit it off and I know it’s the start of a great friendship. 

With them being a new chapter of the National Organization, I am excited that they were able to donate over 45 handmade quilts for the sick children at Hershey Medical Center, made with pure love!  So yet again, having lost my Mother caused me to find another wonderful part of my life that I would have never found had I not had to lose her. 

I am going to be making another fabric donation to this chapter of Quilts for Kids in a few weeks and hopefully one day soon my life will slow down just a little so that I will be able to help make those quilts, to help live out my Mom’s dream.  I am inviting each and every one of you to come help us quilt.  And don’t worry if you have NO CLUE how to quilt, there are many people at the monthly meetings that will gladly teach you!  And if you do know how to quilt, they can provide you with the fabric and send you on your quilting way! 🙂 

If you have any interest let me know and I’ll get you in contact with Cheri. And if you don’t have any interest but know someone who you think would, please forward this email to them.

Thanks and have a great night!

Cindy

Published in: on February 22, 2010 at 8:55 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cheriquilts.wordpress.com/2010/02/22/quilts-for-kids/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

