February Newsletter for Quilts for Kids York Chapter

clip_image001[1]York Chapterclip_image004

                       February Newsletter

I would like to share some information with all of you about our progress. We have a GREAT group of volunteers whose efforts are limitless! Everyone who has participated has done a fantastic job and I just wanted to say “Thank You so much”

Our next Workshop will be at the Paul Smith Library in Shrewsbury on February 20th from 10:00 – 4:00. As usual I will have new kits for everyone to work on. We should have a few more new people joining us on that date.

In March we will have the use of the hall at the VFW at 123 West Main Street, New Freedom, Pa. A great big hug and thanks to Mitch Court for accommodating us. Also, the VFW will be donating funds to our Chapter. I will be getting back to all of you with the date and time for this Workshop. Mitch has asked that we provide some quilts for the men and women at the Walters Reed hospital. A few of us have already started to do some hospital saddle bags for Mitch to take when he goes to visit at the end of February.

We also are in the process of acquiring a place to do a craft fair to raise funds for our chapter, hopefully taking place on Saturday, May 1st.  More information to come soon.  Tricia is working on getting this set up for us. If you have any ideas or suggestions for vendors, please let me or Tricia know as soon as possible.

I want to thank Cindy Malloy for her generous donation of batting and fabric to our chapter. Thanks also to Linda Winters, Margie, Linda Zuzik, Eleanor, MaryAnn and Terri for helping to sort and distribute Cindy’s donation at my house. It was a lot of work, but well worth it. We all had a great time, it was like being a kid in a candy shop…fun, fun, fun.

Now for Headquarters news:

Things are looking very good for Quilts for Kids. Maybe you have seen the commercials for Downy Touch of Comfort and their generousity to Quilts for Kids. This is a great partnership! Please check out this link http://www.downy.com/en-US/helping-kids.jspx. to see our founder, Linda Arye, tell her story and see what a difference our work does for those in need. It is just amazing to see these children receive their quilts and feel the love that we all put into them.

As usual, I am available most days and I check my email often. If there are any suggestions, concerns, or anything you may need, please call me at 246-5160 home or 891-3176 cell, or email at cheriqfk@earthlink.net. If you cannot reach me or need Tricia for any fundraising ideas please email her at triciaqfk@earthlink.net.

I am hoping the weather will cooperate with our next workshop. If there is measureable snow coming from the skies, we will reschedule, since there are a lot of people that do not live locally in Shrewsbury.

Well, I believe that is it for the time being. Until I see you at the next workshop, stay warm and dry!

Thanks,

Cheri

Published in: on February 5, 2010 at 11:54 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cheriquilts.wordpress.com/2010/02/05/february-newsletter-for-quilts-for-kids-york-chapter/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Cheri,We all know things happen for a reason. I did not know your Mother, but I know she would be so thrilled with what you are doing. Your gift of sewing, and kindness is certainly a credit to her, as a Mother!!! I feel so very lucky to have met you, and to be a part of your dream!!!!

  2. Hey girlie, you have done such an awesome job with this blog site…..And I think it is so cool that we are going to deliver the blankets on that date! Things happen for a reason….I totally believe that. I am so proud to call you my best friend! You have made me a part of something that is so wonderful. I know your mom is looking down and smiling at you! I am so proud of all you have taught me, and I am so proud of what has been accomplished! You are doing an awesome job! Luv ya!


Leave a Reply

